Methodology
This index is research-based. We did not buy these plans. Each price was read from the vendor's official Canadian pricing page (or its global page where no Canadian one exists) while researching the NorthVetted article linked on that row, and every row records the month it was checked.
- Regular list price. The monthly column is what you pay on monthly billing after any promotion ends. Introductory offers, first-term discounts, and coupons are excluded.
- Before tax. Prices exclude GST/HST, PST, and QST, which are added at checkout based on your province.
- Currency as published. CAD rows are billed in Canadian dollars. USD rows are billed in US dollars, so your cost moves with the exchange rate and your card may add a foreign transaction fee. “Not stated” means the official page shows a dollar sign with no currency label. We do not convert any price.
- Findings are calculated from the table. “Entry-level” means each product's cheapest paid plan on monthly billing. Medians and ranges use CAD-priced rows only unless stated.
- Updates. We re-check prices each time the linked article comes up on its scheduled review, and sooner when a vendor announces a change. When a price changes, the row and its checked month change with it.
See how we review. GetMarkup is built by Methodical Studio, NorthVetted's publisher, and is labelled wherever it appears.
What is not included
- Payworks, ADP, Clover, and Moneris interchange-plus. Pricing is by quote only.
- Rise payroll. Lists $8 per employee but does not publish its base fee.
- Employment Hero payroll. Sold only on top of an HR plan with a 10-user minimum, and the page does not state a currency.
- Mailchimp. Shows only an estimated CAD price converted from USD, which changes with the exchange rate.
- FreshBooks Payments, Jobber Payments, and Housecall Pro payments. The published rates do not say they are in CAD or apply to Canadian accounts.
- Promotions and introductory offers. We list the regular price you pay once a promotion ends.
- Credit cards, loans, financing, and interest-earning accounts. Out of scope. This index covers software and account fees only.
How to cite this data
You are welcome to quote, chart, or republish these figures under the CC BY 4.0 licence. Please credit NorthVetted and link to this page so readers can see the source for each price. Suggested citation: