A point of sale system is the software, hardware, and payment processing you use to ring up sales in person. For a Canadian shop, café, or market stall, the monthly software fee is only part of the cost. Interac debit rates, hardware bought or rented in CAD, contract terms, and what happens when the internet drops all matter just as much.
This guide ranks five POS systems by use case: retail, restaurants, markets and pop-ups, and online plus in-store. If you only need card processing and not a full POS, see our Square vs Moneris vs Helcim fee comparison, which goes deeper on processing rates.
How we evaluated
We compared each POS against the same Canadian checklist using only official sources: vendor pricing pages for Canada, hardware stores, help centre articles, and published terms. This is a research-based review. We did not use any of these systems hands-on, and nothing below describes first-hand experience.
The checklist:
- Software price in CAD or USD, at regular list price with monthly billing where published
- In-person card and Interac rates, since many Canadian customers pay with debit
- Hardware prices in CAD, and whether hardware is bought or rented
- Contract terms and cancellation
- Retail vs restaurant fit: inventory, variants, floor plans, kitchen displays
- Multi-location and offline mode
- Accounting integrations with QuickBooks Online or Xero
All prices were checked in September 2026. Promotions are labelled as promotions. For every POS plan and published card and Interac rate in one table, see our Canadian small business software price index.
| Feature | Square | Shopify POS | Lightspeed | TouchBistro | Moneris Go |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Starting software price (monthly) | $0 | CAD $49 (Basic) | CAD $139 Retail, $89 Restaurant | $89 (currency not stated) | CAD $10 Retail POS |
| Bills in | CAD | CAD | CAD | Not stated | CAD |
| In-person credit rate | 2.5% | 2.6% (Basic) | 2.6% + 10¢ | Not published | 2.45% + 10¢ (Retail) |
| In-person Interac rate | 0.75% + 7¢ | 15¢ | Not published | Not published | 12¢ |
| Entry hardware (CAD) | $69 reader | $69 WisePad 3 reader | Quote | Quote | $34.95/mo rental |
| Offline card payments | Not stated | ||||
| Interac accepted offline | Not stated | Not stated | |||
| Restaurant features | |||||
| Published pricing | Partly |
1. Square: best for markets, pop-ups, and new businesses
Square is the lowest-cost way to start taking payments in person in Canada, with a $0/month plan and a $69 reader. It is also the only system here that publishes every price you need, from software to hardware to processing.
Pricing. Square bills in CAD. The Free plan is $0/month. Square for Retail Plus is $79/month per location and lowers in-person credit to 2.45%. Square for Restaurants Plus is $60/month, includes one countertop POS device per location (add more at $40/month each), and includes unlimited kitchen display devices; on the Free plan a Square KDS device is $20/month. Both Plus plans offer a 30-day free trial.
Processing. In-person credit is 2.5% on the Free plan, Interac debit is 0.75% + 7¢, online is 2.8% + 30¢, and keyed-in is 3.3% + 15¢. Cards issued outside Canada cost an extra 1.5%. These match the rates in our processing fee comparison.
Hardware. You buy it outright: Square Reader $69, Stand $249, Kiosk $249, Terminal $399, Handheld $449, and Register $999.
What stands out. Square's restaurant pricing page states that no long-term contract is required and you can change or cancel your plan at any time. Offline payments are included on every plan, and the Free restaurant plan allows unlimited locations and unlimited countertop POS devices. For retail, Square's FAQ lists multi-location stock management among the features included in Plus but not in Free.
Keep in mind. Interac is priced as a percentage. At 0.75% + 7¢, a $20 debit sale costs 22¢ and a $100 sale costs 82¢, while Moneris Go and Shopify POS charge a flat 12¢ or 15¢. Square's offline mode has set limits: on Square Reader, payments can be taken for up to 24 hours in one offline session, offline payments must be uploaded within 72 hours, and Square states that Interac debit cards do not work offline. For accounting, Square's Canadian App Marketplace lists third-party connectors such as Commerce Sync, which sends Square sales to QuickBooks and Xero nightly.
Square
Strengths
- $0/month Free plan and a $69 reader
- Every price published in CAD
- No long-term contract, cancel any time
- Offline payments on every plan
- Retail, restaurant, and appointment versions from one account
Good to know
- Interac is 0.75% + 7¢; flat-rate Interac costs less on large debit sales
- Interac needs a connection; offline mode covers credit cards
- Advanced inventory tools are on Retail Plus at $79/month per location
- QuickBooks and Xero sync runs through third-party apps
Square
2. Shopify POS: best if you sell online and in store
Shopify POS is the strongest choice when your online store is the centre of the business and the counter, market table, or pop-up is a second channel. Inventory, products, and customers live in one Shopify account.
Pricing. Shopify bills in CAD. Every paid plan includes basic in-person selling. Billed monthly, Basic is $49/month, Grow is $132/month, and Advanced is $517/month (billed yearly they are $37, $99, and $389). POS Pro, which adds staff roles, inventory tools, and fuller customer profiles for a permanent retail location, is an extra $119/month per location, billed yearly. Shopify was advertising 3 months at $1/month on Basic, Grow, and Advanced at the time of writing; that is a promotion, not the regular price.
Processing. In-person card rates are 2.6% on Basic, 2.5% on Grow, and 2.4% on Advanced, with no per-transaction fee. In-person Interac is a flat 15¢ on all three plans. That flat Interac fee is a real advantage over Square for anyone with larger debit sales.
Hardware. Shopify's Canadian hardware store lists the WisePad 3 card reader at $69, the Shopify POS Terminal at $459, and the Verifone Victa Mobile handheld at $499.
What stands out. Offline card payments are available for Canadian locations with compatible readers, and Shopify recommends reconnecting within 24 hours. For accounting, the Shopify App Store lists several QuickBooks Online and Xero connectors, including an official Xero app.
Keep in mind. Shopify's help centre states that Canadian businesses cannot accept Interac payments offline. Shopify POS is a retail tool, without restaurant features such as floor plans or kitchen tickets. A busy store will likely want POS Pro, which adds $119/month per location on top of your plan.
For hardware, POS Pro, offline payments, and tax at the register in more depth, read our full Shopify POS review.
Shopify POS
Strengths
- One inventory across online store and in-person sales
- Flat 15¢ Interac rate on Basic, Grow, and Advanced
- In-person credit from 2.6% down to 2.4% by plan
- Priced in CAD with published hardware prices
- Large app store with QuickBooks and Xero connectors
Good to know
- Busy stores will likely want POS Pro at $119/month per location, billed yearly
- Built for retail rather than restaurants
- Interac needs a connection in Canada
- Square costs less if you have no online store
For a full walkthrough of setting up the online side, see our guide to starting an online store in Canada and our Shopify vs WooCommerce comparison.
3. Lightspeed: best for established retail and restaurants
Lightspeed, based in Montreal, is built for stores and restaurants with deeper needs: large catalogues with variants, purchase orders, multiple locations, and accounting sync. It costs more than Square or Shopify POS, and the price reflects that scope.
Retail pricing. Lightspeed Retail bills in CAD on its Canadian pricing page. Billed monthly, Basic is $139/month, Core is $239/month, and Plus is $399/month. Billed annually, they drop to $119, $199, and $329 a month. Each plan includes one register; extra registers and locations cost more. Inventory management and integrated payments are on every plan (Basic gets a basic version of the built-in ecommerce), while accounting, ecommerce, and marketing integrations start on Core.
Restaurant pricing. Lightspeed Restaurant lists Starter at CAD $89/month, Essential at $239/month, and Premium at $499/month, with a Kitchen Display System at $40/month per screen. The restaurant page does not state a billing term, so confirm it with sales. Advanced inventory is also sold as an add-on on every plan.
Processing. Lightspeed Payments is listed at 2.6% + 10¢ card present on all retail plans. Lightspeed does not publish its Interac rate on its pricing page, so ask for it in writing.
What stands out. Lightspeed Restaurant says it syncs to QuickBooks, Xero, Sage, and more through Lightspeed Accounting. The retail POS keeps selling offline for cash and other non-card sales, and sales sync once you reconnect.
Keep in mind. Offline card payments in Lightspeed Retail run on the Smart Terminal (WisePOS E), are described as a beta that may not be available in your account, and cover credit cards rather than Interac in Canada. Hardware is quoted rather than published as a simple list. Accounting integrations start on Core, above the Basic retail plan.
Lightspeed
Strengths
- Canadian company with CAD pricing published
- Deep inventory tools on every retail plan
- Separate retail and restaurant products
- QuickBooks and Xero sync via Lightspeed Accounting
- Annual billing saves up to 18%
Good to know
- Retail starts at CAD $139/month billed monthly
- Ask for the Interac rate, as it is not published
- Offline card payments run on the Smart Terminal and exclude Interac
- Accounting integrations start on the Core plan
Lightspeed
4. TouchBistro: best for full-service restaurants
TouchBistro, based in Toronto, is restaurant-only software built around table service: floor plans, menu management, and staff management are in the base price. It suits sit-down restaurants and bars more than quick-service counters.
Pricing. TouchBistro's pricing page lists the Point of Sale bundle starting at $89/month (hardware, payment processing, and additional fees apply) and the Essentials Bundle, with software, hardware, and integrated payments, starting at $99/month (payment processing and additional fees apply). The page does not say whether these prices are CAD or USD. Add-ons such as kitchen display, inventory, online ordering, reservations, and loyalty are quote-based.
Processing. TouchBistro does not publish its processing rates. It says the POS works with a range of payment processors, and Moneris has announced a partnership with TouchBistro.
What stands out. TouchBistro says every POS feature is included in the base price, with no locked features, and that 24/7 phone and email support is included. It charges no commission on its own online ordering. Its site states that staff can keep taking orders and payments offline. For accounting, TouchBistro lists QuickBooks and Xero connections through partners such as Shogo and MarginEdge.
Keep in mind. Pricing is partly published, the currency is not stated, and most add-ons are quoted.
TouchBistro
Strengths
- Built for full-service restaurants
- All core POS features in the base price
- 24/7 support included
- No commission on its online ordering
- Offline order and payment support stated
Good to know
- Confirm the currency, as the pricing page does not state it
- Ask for processing rates, as they are not published
- Most add-ons are quote-based
- Built for restaurants rather than retail
TouchBistro
5. Moneris Go: best for merchants banking with RBC or BMO
Moneris Go POS pairs Moneris processing with simple retail and restaurant software on the Moneris Go terminal. It suits businesses that already bank with RBC or BMO and want everything from one Canadian processor.
Pricing. Moneris Go Retail POS software is $10/month, and the Moneris Go terminal rents for $34.95/month, so a new retail setup is $44.95/month; Moneris notes a software access fee of $5/month may also apply. Moneris Go Restaurant POS is $29.99/month for software, or $64.94/month with the terminal. It needs an iPad; Moneris sells one for $499.99, and optional hardware bundles are $499 and $999. Moneris was advertising 50% off annual fees for a limited time; that is a promotion.
Processing. On the POS product pages, Moneris lists flat rates of 2.45% + 10¢ for credit on Go Retail and 2.35% + 10¢ on Go Restaurant, with Interac at 12¢ on both. These are lower than the 2.65% + 10¢ on Moneris's general Flat Rate plan, so confirm which rate your agreement uses.
What stands out. A flat 12¢ Interac rate, the lowest published Interac fee in this review. The retail software includes inventory with product variants and runs in a browser on your phone, tablet, or laptop.
Keep in mind. The terminal is rented rather than bought. Moneris's standard small business merchant agreement has a three-year initial term that renews automatically, and a $300 deactivation fee per location when it ends (see our Moneris breakdown). Moneris Go Restaurant is not available in Quebec or in French.
Moneris Go
Strengths
- 12¢ Interac, lowest published in this review
- Low software fees: $10/month retail, $29.99/month restaurant
- Credit from 2.35% + 10¢ on the POS bundles
- Canadian processor working with RBC and BMO
Good to know
- Terminal rented at $34.95/month
- Standard agreement has a three-year initial term
- $300 per-location deactivation fee
- Restaurant POS not available in Quebec or in French
Moneris Go
Also consider: Clover
Clover, owned by Fiserv, is sold in Canada directly and through partners, but its Canadian pricing is quote-based and not published. Clover's Canadian pricing page describes Starter, Standard, and Advanced plans, a monthly software fee plus per-transaction processing, and the option to pay monthly for hardware and software or buy hardware outright. It also says contract terms and termination fees vary by provider. If you get a Clover quote, ask for the Interac rate, the term length, and any cancellation fee in writing, then compare it against the published prices above.
Which POS is best for retail, restaurants, and markets?
Match the system to how you sell. The monthly fee matters less than the fit and the Interac rate.
- Market stall, food truck, or pop-up: Square. $0/month, a $69 reader, no contract. Keep in mind that Interac needs a signal.
- Retail with an online store: Shopify POS. One catalogue across channels and a flat 15¢ Interac rate.
- Established retail with a large catalogue or several locations: Lightspeed Retail, especially if you need purchase orders and accounting sync.
- Quick-service café or counter restaurant: Square for Restaurants (Free or $60/month Plus) or Moneris Go Restaurant if you bank with RBC or BMO and are outside Quebec.
- Full-service restaurant or bar: Lightspeed Restaurant or TouchBistro. Get quotes from both, since neither publishes processing rates.
How much does a POS system cost per month in Canada?
For one location, expect $0 to about $140 a month in software before processing, plus hardware. Here is what the published list prices add up to for a simple one-register setup:
- Square Free: $0/month software, $69 reader once
- Moneris Go Retail: $44.95/month including the rented terminal (plus the possible $5 access fee)
- Shopify Basic: $49/month, $69 reader once; add $119/month for POS Pro
- Lightspeed Retail Basic: $139/month billed monthly, hardware quoted separately
Processing is usually the larger cost. On $10,000 a month of in-person credit, 2.5% is $250. That is why the Interac rate matters: on 200 debit sales averaging $50, Square's 0.75% + 7¢ comes to $89, while a flat 12¢ is $24 and a flat 15¢ is $30. Run your own mix through our fee comparison before you choose.
Do POS systems in Canada require a contract?
It depends on the provider. Square states no long-term contract is required, and Shopify and Lightspeed let you choose monthly or annual billing. Moneris's standard merchant agreement has a three-year initial term, and Clover says terms vary by provider.
Under the Code of Conduct for the Payment Card Industry in Canada, overseen by the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada, your processor must give you notice before fee increases and let you cancel without penalty within 70 days after a fee change takes effect. That covers fee changes; the term you agreed to still applies. Read the agreement before signing, especially anything that involves rented hardware.
Our verdict
4.5Start with Square if you are new, sell at markets or events, or want no monthly fee and no contract, and compare its percentage-based Interac rate if your debit sales are large. Choose Shopify POS if your online store drives the business and you want one inventory across channels with a flat 15¢ Interac fee. Established retailers and restaurants that need deeper inventory, multiple locations, and QuickBooks or Xero sync should get a Lightspeed quote, and full-service restaurants should compare it with TouchBistro. Moneris Go fits RBC and BMO customers who want a 12¢ Interac rate and are comfortable with a rented terminal and a longer agreement.
Frequently asked questions
What is the cheapest POS system in Canada?
Square has the lowest entry cost on published prices: the Free plan is $0/month and the Square Reader is $69. You pay 2.5% on in-person credit and 0.75% + 7¢ on Interac debit.
Which POS has the lowest Interac debit fees?
Among the POS systems here with published Interac rates, Moneris Go charges 12¢ per in-person Interac transaction and Shopify POS charges 15¢. Square charges 0.75% + 7¢, which costs more than 12¢ on any sale above about $7 and more than 15¢ above about $11.
Can a POS take Interac debit when the internet is down?
Not with Square, Shopify POS, or Lightspeed. All three document offline card payments for credit cards, but each states that Interac debit is not accepted offline in Canada.
Do I need a contract for a POS system in Canada?
Square states no long-term contract is required and you can cancel at any time. Moneris's standard small business merchant agreement has a three-year initial term, and Clover says contract terms and termination fees vary by provider, so read the agreement before you sign.
Which POS systems work with QuickBooks or Xero?
Lightspeed Restaurant lists QuickBooks and Xero sync, and Lightspeed Retail includes accounting integrations on its Core and Plus plans. Square and Shopify connect through third-party apps in their app marketplaces, and TouchBistro connects through partners such as Shogo and MarginEdge.
Sources
- Square Canada: pricing (checked September 2026)
- Square for Retail Canada: pricing (checked September 2026)
- Square for Restaurants Canada: pricing (checked September 2026)
- Square Canada: hardware shop (checked September 2026)
- Square App Marketplace: Commerce Sync for QuickBooks and Xero (checked September 2026)
- Shopify Canada: POS pricing (checked September 2026)
- Shopify Canada: plan pricing (checked September 2026)
- Shopify Hardware Store Canada: card readers (checked September 2026)
- Shopify Help Center: accepting card payments offline (checked September 2026)
- Lightspeed Retail: pricing (Canada, French) (checked September 2026)
- Lightspeed Restaurant: pricing (checked September 2026)
- Lightspeed Restaurant: accounting integrations (checked September 2026)
- Lightspeed Retail (X-Series) support: Lightspeed Payments offline mode (checked September 2026)
- TouchBistro: pricing (checked September 2026)
- TouchBistro: TouchBistro vs Lavu (offline mode) (checked September 2026)
- Moneris: Go Restaurant launch and TouchBistro partnership (checked September 2026)
- TouchBistro: accounting software partners (checked September 2026)
- Moneris Go Retail POS (checked September 2026)
- Moneris Go Restaurant POS (checked September 2026)
- Moneris: pricing (checked September 2026)
- Moneris Merchant Agreement Terms and Conditions, April 2026 (checked September 2026)
- Clover Canada: pricing (checked September 2026)
- FCAC: Merchant rights under the Code of Conduct for the Payment Card Industry in Canada (checked September 2026)